Editing · Tutorials

How I edit my photos

Today’s post is about how I edit my photos.

For editing, I use the app Snapseed on my phone or tablet and Photoshop on my laptop.

I don’t edit my photos that much. The only things I adjust are colors, brightness sand saturation. For removing the stands, I use Photoshop, but I think you can choose any other program or app that works with layers for this.

Original

The original photo.

I took this photo in our garden under one of our trees in the afternoon sun; I really like this location because the photos look like they were taken in a forest.

Screenshot_2016-08-28-16-14-36

Open the picture on Snapseed.

I use this app in German, so I’ll translate the words in English and I will also encircle the tools which I use in red.

Screenshot_2016-08-28-16-14-42

First step: Tune Image

With this tool, I adjust the brightness, contrast, saturation and more. I adjust them so that the photo looks more bright, colorful and vibrant to me.

Screenshot_2016-08-28-16-16-07

How I edit most of my photos.

From top to bottom:
Brightness
Contrast
Saturation
Ambiance
Highlights
Shadows
Warmth
I’m not 100% sure if the translations are right; if you have suggestions, please let me know. :3

I only use the Warmth tool when the photo is too yellow-ish or blue-ish.

Screenshot_2016-08-28-16-16-24

Second step: Brush

I use this tool to edit the eyes of my figures. I adjust the brightness and the colors.

Screenshot_2016-08-28-16-16-47

First, I adjust the saturation of the eyes with the saturation brush. I didn’t set the saturation too high so that the colors will still look natural.

Screenshot_2016-08-28-16-17-59

To make the eyes sparkle, I use the exposure brush. At first, I set the brush to 0,3 and make the eyes a bit brighter. For the white sparkles, I set the exposure to 1,0.

002

Before and after.

And here is the final result!

There are plenty other ways to use Snapseed for editing, but I’m already satisfied with these tools.

I hope that this post was helpful. If you have any questions, please let me know.

IMG_9294-01--2

Leave a Reply

