Other figures · Reviews

Review: Fate/Grand Order Saber Alter 1/7 Dress ver. by Alter

Alter really knows how to alter your wallet!

This review is about my very first scale figure, Saber Alter 1/7 Dress ver. by the company Alter. They are quite well-known for their amazing figures with high quality.

When I started collecting figures, I was hesistant about buying scale figures at first due to their static poses and higher prices. However, I fell in love with this figure of Saber Alter at first sight and she even comes with alternate parts so you can display her with different poses!

IMG_0992

And here she is! The box is gigantic.

The design of the box. Plase click on the photos for a better resolution.

Currently, I don’t own any other scale figures, so I can’t really compare this design of the box to the ones of other scale figures.

The design of the box fits the figure perfectly, especially the colours compliment her very well. I also like the patterns a lot.

IMG_0987

The contents of the box.

Unlike the majority of other scale figures, Saber Alter comes with a lot of different parts. The following ones are included:

  • main figure (head and left arm can be switched out)
  • her sword Excalibur
  • alternate arm part so she can put her left hand on Excalibur
  • alternate upper body part without the jacket
  • figure base

Saber Alter out of the box.

There are many ways to pose her, but I chose this pose so you can also take a look at her sword Excalibur. This is also how I display her in my shelf.

I have heard from other people who own her have problems with the sword that keeps falling down because the left hand doesn’t hold it firmly enough. Luckily, I do not have this problem at all.

A closer look at the figure.

I can’t express how amazed I am by the extremely detailed sculpt and the wonderful paint job. The small silver prints on her dress are also very detailed and even have some kind of a holographic effect in the light. A few parts of the dress are made of soft PVC, like the small ribbons on the sleeves.

There are no paint flaws, scratches, or any other kinds of defects. I am really glad how great this figure turned out. You can really expect high quality from the company Alter!

Focusing on the details and the base.

This figure is extremely detailed. If you look closely at the first picture, you can recognize that even her nails have a glossy coating.

I also like the base a lot! I heard that the bases of Alter scale figures are usually kept very  simple, so I’m glad that this one didn’t turn out too plain. The design pattern is the same as on the box.

At first I thought that the small hole in the base was a defect and I was a little bit disappointed, but then I found out that it was actually made on purpose so the sword can fit in, haha.

Posing her with the sleeveless torso.

The figure parts can be exchanged very easily. So far, I haven’t had any major problems yet. I only have a little trouble when I try to put her head on the sleeveless upper body part, but that’s not a big deal.

This might sound a bit weird, but I also love the way how her skin feels! The surface feels different from the other plastic parts. It’s rather soft and very smooth.

A close look at the boots. Those legs though!

The boots have a glossy touch and are very detailed, especially at the back.

IMG_0981

Saber Alter without the lower dress part.

I think it’s really amazing how Alter added such a detail like this. If you want to, you can even display her like that – however, the peg of the lower body isn’t completely covered, probably because the dress is usually between the upper and the lower part.

IMG_0995

Saber Alter’s size compared to Nendoroid and Figma.

Saber Alter is about 23cm tall (8.97 inches), while the Nendoroid is 10cm (3.9 inches) and the Figma is 13,5cm (5.27 inches). She is currently my biggest figure.

IMG_1012 Kopie-01--klein

One of my recent shots!

This photo is inspired by her third ascension art from the mobile game Fate/Grand Order. I like how Alter decided to create a new pose of her instead of choosing the static one from her Fate/GO illustrations.

I still have to figure out how to take proper photos of scale figures. Because she is my very first one, it will be a nice challenge to come up with new ideas and create set-ups for her. It’s definitely a different experience than taking photos of Nendoroids and Figmas. Capturing all the details of the figure is not very easy.

Saber Alter is definitely an amazing figure and I can highly recommend her. She’s definitely worth the higher price and makes a good addition to the collection!

Alter has also announced a scale figure of Jeanne Alter. I am really looking forward to this one and I think that she’ll look amazing next to Saber!

I hope that you enjoyed reading this review! Please do not hesitate to ask me if you have any further questions.

See you next time!

tumblr_na652uqcn41rk6bsxo1_500

Leave a Reply

